Lessons Learned

Yesterday was my oldest granddaughter’s twelfth birthday. I volunteered to make the cake.  Over the last 4 years I have worked at teaching myself cake decorating. Sometimes they are great, sometimes not, but it always takes twice as much time as I think it should. This does not include cleaning up the destruction to the kitchen and any room I happen to pass through during the decorating process.
1) Don’t wait until the day of the birthday to start. The increased pressure guarantees a final result less perfect than you planned and doubles the mess in the kitchen.
2) Never take your favorite (only) cake plate out of your house. This is no longer a worry.
3) Allow enough time to get yourself ready. Your daughter-in-law will find the smear of chocolate under your chin.
All in all the evening was great. My granddaughter thought the cake was wonderful and a fun time was had by all.

One thought on “Lessons Learned

Leave a Reply

