MOM & MOMS

My mother died in 1971 at the young age of 59.  At the time of her death I was a typical 18-year-old, very busy trying to survive nursing school and the crazy social life of a college student.  I was sorrowed by her untimely early death but did not realize the magnitude of the loss until I gave birth to my first child.  Suddenly it became painfully apparent that I was missing something.  There was no experienced person near that could understand how frightened and terrified I was, of this small little bundle, I was about to take home.  My books by Benjamin Spock & T. Berry Brazelton had been read from cover to cover.  They were of little help, as was I being a nurse.  It was evident soon after this little guy was born that people thought you could be a mother if you were a nurse.  WRONG!  I can nurse most anything for 8-12 hours but now there was no reporting off duty and clocking out.  He was here 24 hours a day and 7 days a week.   My appreciation and understanding of my mother changed that day and almost every day since.  She had frequently told me this, but I had not paid much attention because it was usually told to me in a very loud volume and during time of duress.  “You just wait until you have kids!”  Over the years she has frequently spoken to me and given me direction.  Most of the time it has been in her own words somehow coming out of my mouth, things like; because I said so, don’t talk back to me young lady, get your hair out of your eyes, what were you thinking, and  nothing good happens after midnight.  The list is endless.  Other times she has spoken through pictures and fond memories.  Now that I no longer fear being  like my mother, I can freely say, thank you for giving me what you had to give. You were not perfect, nor am I, but you loved me deeply and did your best for me and I could ask nothing more.  Thanks Mom!                                                       Blossom from Mother’s Hoya

Because Mother died early in my life I want to say thank you to those that filled in the gap.  I cannot remember all those that took me under their wing, provided advice and guidance, or just listened, but you are appreciated.

Helen Cox – I worked with Helen in a small 28 bed hospital the year Mother died.  She nursed me through the loss and my first year of away from home.

Elaine and Sandy – my older sisters who stuck close by me and listened to all my woes, helped me with my wedding, coached me in child rearing, and were always only a phone call away.

Helen Prater – my head nurse at Baylor Hospital, helped me adjust to life in the big city and shared her own experiences as a mom.

Grandma Hutton – allowed me to stay with her and taught me to check out those things that go “bump in the night” and how to be independent.

Melba Haney – shared the bathroom between our offices at work, planned my second wedding and showed me how to be a grandma.

And lastly there are three special moms I want to say thank you to; the mothers of my 6 grandchildren.  What a wonderful group of ladies.  Each is very different from the other but very special in their own way.  Each parents differently from the other, but each is very much a special mom who makes their children their priority and loves them as only a mother can.  Thank you, Amanda, Cindi, and Crystal!  Thank you for sharing your children with me and allowing me to be a part of their lives.  Happy Mother’s Day!

One thought on “MOM & MOMS

  1. What beautiful daughters you have! I love the different hats they are wearing. They somewhat fit their personalities I am guessing. Great tribute to your mom and girls! Speaks volumes about yourself!

Leave a Reply

