Gluten Free

We traveled to central Wyoming last week to visit my nephew Jim.  Eighteen months ago he found out he had Celiac Disease also know as gluten intolerance.  He has been on a strict gluten-free diet with great improvement of his symptoms.  When we go to visit I often find myself puttering around in the kitchen while the menfolk work on the vehicles and animals.  Today was no exception.  After snooping around in the refrigerator and pantry I decided to make us a dessert.   Jim’s son Quentin thought a chocolate pie sounded good so I set out searching the web for a gluten-free crust.  I found a recipe using rice flour and got to work.  The crust looked like it had been in an earth quake and tasted a little better than cardboard, the filling and meringue made it tolerable.  The crust was going to take some time to perfect.  The next morning Jim’s son and I went shopping and bought blueberries and peaches.  I took my favorite cobbler recipe and made the substitutions for the wheat products.  Today’s attempt was much more successful.  Watching Quentin dish up his second serving and scarf it down told me this was a keeper.

As our friends and family grow older I find that they have more and more diet restrictions.  (Notice I didn’t say we were growing older.)  This recipe is a great adaption, very forgiving, and I would have no problem using it when there was no one around that was gluten intolerant.  The flavors of the blueberries and peaches together have their own little party with your taste buds.  Enjoy!

Blueberry & Peach Cobbler (gluten-free)

3 cups blueberries
1/4 tsp salt
2 tbls butter
2 tbls tapioca
1/4 cup granulated sugar
mix the above ingredients and put aside.
3 cups sliced peaches
1/4 cup brown sugar
1/4 tsp almond extract
Mix together and put aside.
For crust;  mix 1/4 cup brown sugar, 1 cup rice flour, 2 small eggs or 1 large,
1/2 cup milk, 1 tbsp baking powder, and 2 tsp vanilla extract.
Layer peaches in  a round or square 10 inch pan,  add blueberry mixture on top.  Dot with crust mixture, bake @ 375 for 30-35 min.
Allow to cool slightly, serve alone or with ice cream.

Leave a Reply

