The Gift of Memories

Tea Party

When I was in my 20’s the thought of grandchildren never entered my mind let alone what they might remember about me.  I did not realize the importance of the memories that my parents or grandparents had given me.  Soon after the first grandchild was born the memories of times with my grandmothers started to become more vivid and important to me.

King Cakes

I never remember entering Grandma Joy’s foyer that I wasn’t enveloped by the aroma of fresh-baked bread.  Within minutes of arriving the table would be set with small rose print plates, thick slices of warm bread, butter, and apple butter.   As Grandma Joy cooked or worked around the house she frequently sang “Too-ra-loo-ra-loo-ral, that’s an Irish lul-la-by”.  I’m pretty sure that is the only verse of the song she ever sang and I’m pretty sure I know where I got my singing abilities.  When it was time to “settle down” and be quiet Grandma would pull out her hanky and with her nimble fingers, that always had rose colored finger nail polish, she would fold and twist it until she had fashioned a mouse.   My sister and I would spend hours playing with the mouse.

Coloring Eggs

Grandma Miles (a mere 95 pounds) would ride the bus from Texas to Colorado each summer.   Seldom would you find Grandma Miles with free hands.  While telling my sister and me about her adventures on the bus or stories about our father and his brothers her lean fingers were busily tatting or embroidering.  When the stories had all been told she would spend hours reading to us or teach us to make a spinner with a large button and a length of string.  While Grandma Miles was in Colorado we watched her write letters to her Texas family, when she was in Texas we received wonderful long letters that told of her day-to-day life.

Blowing Bubbles

Both of my grandmothers were very practical, very kind, and far from being jokesters.  Not the case with my father.   I frequently thought he decided his mission as a grandfather was to teach my children everything I didn’t want them to learn. He passed on skills on how to spit, blow their noses without tissue, drink coffee, and play practical jokes.  He gave them many good memories, a sense of humor and an appreciation for Oreo cookies.

Spring Camping

All of our grandchildren have great parents that always take care of business.  This allows us to be grandparents and relax with the grand-kids.    We have gone to the zoo, 6 Flags Over Texas, camping, had cookouts with hayrides, tea parties, and gone to the rodeo with the grandchildren.  The most memorable times have to be those when everyone is sitting on the porch or flopped around the camper and the kids are talking among themselves.  Their perspective on the world and their family is amazing and very entertaining.  I find myself wanting to tuck every moment away in a special place to preserve it. They grow too fast and their simple out look on life will soon disappear.   Hopefully we will give our grandchildren a little of everything we got from our grandparents and a little more.

Grandchildren are the dots that connect the lines from generation to generation.  ~Lois Wyse

One thought on “The Gift of Memories

Leave a Reply

