Friday’s Soup – Broccoli Cheese Soup

I do not like broccoli. And I haven’t liked it since I was a little kid and my mother made me eat it. And I’m President of the United States and I’m not going to eat any more broccoli.
George H. W. Bush
It doesn’t seem so long ago that my youngest son quoted George’s feelings about  broccoli to me, while I was preparing  supper.  I believe I came back with the comment “when your president, eat what ever you want, tonight it would be in your best interest to eat some broccoli.”
I’m relative sure if the president’s mother and I had fixed Broccoli Cheese Soup for our sons that we wouldn’t have had those conversations.  This is a wonderful rich soup that easily qualifies as a comfort food.
Fresh broccoli, tender stems that have been trimmed from the head, or frozen broccoli are suitable for this soup.  This is a fast and easily prepared soup.
1 onion chopped, 1/2 cup of butter, 1/3 cup flour, 6 cups whole milk, 4 crowns of broccoli (or equal to 4 cups) 1/4 tsp red pepper flakes, salt and pepper to taste, vegetable broth.
Steam broccoli until tender.  While broccoli is cooking ,sauté onions and pepper flakes in butter until onion is tender.  Add flour and stir continuously for 1-2 minutes, slowly add milk stirring until mixed, add broccoli and  bring to a slow simmer (do not allow to boil) until thickened, add cheese and stir until melted.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Using an immersion blender blend to desired consistency.  If soup is extremely thick thin with vegetable broth.  ,Serve in a bread bowl or with garlic toast.  FAST, EASY, and TASTY!

Leave a Reply

